Home Action Replay Page Forum Index Home Action Replay Page
Home Action Replay Page
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

MESS Frontend Test
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Home Action Replay Page Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mahlemiut
Supereditor


Joined: 06 Jan 2005
Posts: 914
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, I have 1GB RAM on my XP box. I have VMWare on it too, running an older version of Ubuntu. Unfortunately, VMWare sucks for running MAME (or any non-GUI game, for that matter) on. That, and keeping one version of Linux updated is enough of a bandwidth drain, let alone two. There's also not much disk space left after 4 years of use. Smile
_________________
- Barry Rodewald
HARP CPC, X68000, Neo Geo Pocket, and Neo Geo AES section editor
http://galemu.emuunlim.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mahlemiut
Supereditor


Joined: 06 Jan 2005
Posts: 914
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And eh, I'm only using VC# 2008 Express anyway - might be missing a few features, but nothing that stops you from easily producing .NET apps for free. Smile
_________________
- Barry Rodewald
HARP CPC, X68000, Neo Geo Pocket, and Neo Geo AES section editor
http://galemu.emuunlim.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Chad
Supereditor


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 811

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 3:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

not super concerned about the development machine, i'm concerned about the runtime one, since there is usually a 1 to many relationship there. I'm not developing a program that won't run on linux, and so far it won't run for me, yet :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mahlemiut
Supereditor


Joined: 06 Jan 2005
Posts: 914
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 6:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure it runs on Linux, at least it does for me. All you need it the exe, and the Mono runtime (1.2.x).

Of course, you could just do it the right and proper Unix way, and compile the latest version of Mono... Smile
_________________
- Barry Rodewald
HARP CPC, X68000, Neo Geo Pocket, and Neo Geo AES section editor
http://galemu.emuunlim.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Chad
Supereditor


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 811

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well not for me yet and that's the delay, there's not an easy way to get a windows usable mono on fedora. If i can't run it, it then a lot of people can't run, it especially those who mind compiling things to run them. I still have to make a srpm for wolfmess, so then linux users won't have to compile sdlmess.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mahlemiut
Supereditor


Joined: 06 Jan 2005
Posts: 914
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, looking at the download section for Mono... it looks like a straight-forward installer. Should be simple to install.
_________________
- Barry Rodewald
HARP CPC, X68000, Neo Geo Pocket, and Neo Geo AES section editor
http://galemu.emuunlim.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Chad
Supereditor


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 811

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it's already installed on fedora... you know. i just don't have the windows extras.

Would you mind doing a rpm -qa|fgrep mono (or equivalent) to see what extras you have installed besides the regular mono.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mahlemiut
Supereditor


Joined: 06 Jan 2005
Posts: 914
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 2:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There may be some various libmono libraries that you may need to run it. I see in the Ubuntu repositories, that there is a seperate winforms library.

I'd certainly recommend getting libmono-winforms2.0-cil, libmono-system2.0-cil and libmono-system-runtime2.0-cil

Hopefully you also have mono-runtime, mono-jit and mono-utils installed too. (There is a base package that installs all these).

You shouldn't need the compilers (mono-mcs and mono-gmcs).
_________________
- Barry Rodewald
HARP CPC, X68000, Neo Geo Pocket, and Neo Geo AES section editor
http://galemu.emuunlim.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mahlemiut
Supereditor


Joined: 06 Jan 2005
Posts: 914
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've installed the Windows version of Mono 1.2.6 also, so I can test that too.

I'm thinking I'll have to disable saving for Linux versions now, there's no way to get it working, although under 1.2.4 it did nothing, but in 1.2.6 (win32) it throws an exception on reading some settings. Annoying.
_________________
- Barry Rodewald
HARP CPC, X68000, Neo Geo Pocket, and Neo Geo AES section editor
http://galemu.emuunlim.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Chad
Supereditor


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 811

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 2:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought you said it did work in linux? what do you mean?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mahlemiut
Supereditor


Joined: 06 Jan 2005
Posts: 914
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 6:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I was confused, and mention my MAME frontend that I've been working on off and on for the past week or so. There are a few issues with that and using the .NET application settings functions. Which is a shame, it's a nice system, that is easily implemented. The MESS frontend doesn't (yet) save any settings to disk, so no problems there.
_________________
- Barry Rodewald
HARP CPC, X68000, Neo Geo Pocket, and Neo Geo AES section editor
http://galemu.emuunlim.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Home Action Replay Page Forum Index -> General All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group