Home Action Replay Page Forum Index Home Action Replay Page
Home Action Replay Page
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

WolfMESS Compo Mode.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Home Action Replay Page Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Frankie
System Leader


Joined: 28 Sep 2004
Posts: 760

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 8:27 am    Post subject: WolfMESS Compo Mode. Reply with quote

Hi

We should probably add a text somewhere that all systems played on MESS must be played under Compo Mode. There should also be an instruction on how do turn on Compo Mode, and it should be easy to find Smile

Otherwise we'll probably have to DQ a lot of recordings in the future. Of course recordings made with WolfMess 114 or older already online are allowed without Compo Mode, but the older versions of WolfMess should be banned from now on.

Bye.
_________________
Frankie

HARP Spectrum System Leader.
http://www.zxspectrum.homeactionreplay.org/index.php

HARP Amiga System Leader:
http://forums.homeactionreplay.org/viewforum.php?f=29
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mahlemiut
Supereditor


Joined: 06 Jan 2005
Posts: 914
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not even sure exactly what Compo mode even does... Smile
_________________
- Barry Rodewald
HARP CPC, X68000, Neo Geo Pocket, and Neo Geo AES section editor
http://galemu.emuunlim.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Chad
Supereditor


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 810

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When the -tournament option is used (Options->Misc->tournament in the gui tab), the tournament number is added to the inp, so we can "sort of" verify that people are recording at the right times. In additon like the spectaculator, wolfmess goes into a state where if you pause the emulator for a few seconds the recording will stop saying emulation performance degraded.

I really think tournament mode should be required on a system by system basis for those moderators that want to enforce it. It's not 100% secure so i don't think it's a thing that should be for all mess recordings. It basically provides similar security to what the spectaculator does except the tournement number is not bare bones in the inp file like it is in the rsx file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Frankie
System Leader


Joined: 28 Sep 2004
Posts: 760

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chad wrote:

I really think tournament mode should be required on a system by system basis for those moderators that want to enforce it. It's not 100% secure so i don't think it's a thing that should be for all mess recordings. It basically provides similar security to what the spectaculator does except the tournement number is not bare bones in the inp file like it is in the rsx file.


Maybe you are right Chad. Maybe it should only be enforced in these cases:

1. In a tournament.
2. On the Spectrum area as there are other pure Spectrum Emulators that already have it, and it would be unfair to allow to play without Compo Mode on WolfMess when playing Spectrum games.

I'm also concerned what happens the day that WinUAE's recording is up and running prefectly. They do produce INP files, but doesn't have Compo Mode. I'm not sure that analinp can read those INP files perfectly at all. Therefore it would be a shame when the day comes that we can't use WinUAE because it doesn't have Compo Mode, because we have started Amiga competition on WolfMess forcing Compo Mode. My reason for concern is that the Amiga emulation on WolfMess lacks a lot compared to WinUAE, and I'm not sure it will ever reach that quality. Some games I've tested just doesn't run because they need more RAM, and I've still not been able to get a multi-disk game to work on WolfMess.

So maybe it would be best not to enforce Compo Mode on Amiga WolfMess. Anyone?
_________________
Frankie

HARP Spectrum System Leader.
http://www.zxspectrum.homeactionreplay.org/index.php

HARP Amiga System Leader:
http://forums.homeactionreplay.org/viewforum.php?f=29
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chad
Supereditor


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 810

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i wouldn't mind playing amiga games on compo mode, enforcing that the speed not dip longer than a few seconds below 50% (basically what compo mode enforces.) But you're right about allowing winUAE will not have a compo mode and you'll proly want to allow those when they work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Home Action Replay Page Forum Index -> General All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group